October 8, 2010

Distinguished Fellow Ivy Carroll Receives North Carolina Award, State's Highest Honor

Media Contacts

Gov. Bevery Perdue and F. Ivy Carroll
Gov. Bevery Perdue and F. Ivy Carroll

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C.—RTI scientist and Distinguished Fellow F. Ivy Carroll, Ph.D., was among six distinguished North Carolinians honored last evening by Gov. Beverly Perdue with the state's highest achievement at the 2010 North Carolina Awards ceremony in Raleigh.

As the award's recipient for science, Carroll was honored as a leading researcher in medicinal chemistry, including his groundbreaking work in the areas of biochemical addiction and drug abuse research. The other honorees were in the fields of literature, the fine arts and public service.

"Through his research, Dr. Carroll has impacted the lives of countless numbers of people around the world, thus fulfilling the RTI mission of improving the human condition," said RTI President and CEO Victoria Haynes. "His dedication to excellence in research, coupled with his commitment to RTI over five decades, has made an incalculable contribution to our scientific stature."

Another RTI scientist, Mansukh Wani, Ph.D., received the North Carolina Award in 2005.

Carroll will mark 50 years at RTI this December, having joined in 1960, making him the institute's longest serving staff member. Among his most recognized scientific contributions is the development of a diagnostic agent for Parkinson's disease and compounds as potential treatments for cocaine and nicotine addictions and other central nervous system disorders. A prolific author, he has published 427 peer-reviewed publications, 33 book chapters, 40 patents, and 21 patent applications.

After receiving a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Auburn University in 1957, Carroll enrolled at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He completed a doctoral degree in organic chemistry in 1961.

At the time, the Research Triangle Park, with RTI at its center, had just been formed. A major reason for the establishment of the park was to retain students who were graduating from local North Carolina universities. Carroll was one of those students who decided to stay in the state by joining RTI.

In addition to his own research work, Carroll has contributed significantly to RTI's growth and reputation for excellence. As director of the Center for Organic and Medicinal Chemistry for many years, as well as in other positions, he hired many scientists from local universities, many of whom stayed throughout their careers. He also trained more than 100 postdoctoral fellows.

In addition to heading the Center, Carroll served as research vice president of Chemistry and Life Sciences from 1996 to 2001. In 2001, he was named RTI's first Distinguished Fellow, a position reserved for highly talented individuals who have distinguished themselves through scientific accomplishments that have had a significant impact on RTI and society.

Carroll was the first recipient of the Margaret Elliott Knox Excellence Award, when he was cited for his internationally recognized work in medicinal chemistry, "reflecting great credit upon RTI."

Also among his many honors are the 2006 Nathan B. Eddy Memorial Award for outstanding research in the field of drug addiction, the 2002 Medicinal Chemistry Award from the American Chemical Society, the 2001 Herty Award, the 2006 Research Achievement Award in Drug Design and Discovery from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, the 2000 Southern Chemist Award, and the 1993 Distinguished Lecturer Award from the North Carolina section of the American Chemical Society. In 2007, Carroll was inducted into the American Chemical Society, Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame.

"The North Carolina Award celebrates creativity and innovation, two values which sustain our economy, our culture and our people," said Gov. Perdue at last evening's ceremony. "We are proud to add the names of these six outstanding North Carolinians for their singular contributions to our state." Created by the General Assembly in 1961, the North Carolina Awards have been presented annually since 1964.

The ceremony was held at the N.C. Museum of History.