Health Information Security and Privacy Collaboration (HISPC)

Health Information Technology: Record Management by Doctor

Impact Analysis Report


Health Information Security and Privacy Collaboration (HISPC) National Conference

March 4-6, 2009; Bethesda, MD

This conference showcased the work of 42 states and territories who participated in seven collaborative work groups to develop and test solutions for the privacy and security of interstate health information exchange.

The work presented included practical demonstrations of the products of these seven, multistate, collaborative groups and specific discussions of how their collaborative solutions apply in specific states.

For more information, see the HISPC conference Web page.


National Conference: Privacy and Security Solutions for Interoperable Health Information Exchange

November 1-2, 2007; Washington, DC

This 1½-day conference featured presentations by 35 states, the District of Columbia, and two territories that discussed projects being implemented to address privacy, security, and interoperable health information exchange. The keynote address was presented by Anthony Rodgers, Director, Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System.

The presentations followed four tracks:

  • Education and Outreach
  • Legal, Regulatory, and Policy Issues
  • Standards and Consent
  • Managing and Monitoring Privacy and Security

Presentations from the conference are available at http://privacysecurity.rti.org/.


HHS 3-31-07

Health Information Security and Privacy Collaboration Reports

A set of reports developed under the Privacy and Security Solutions for Interoperable Health Information Exchange project has been released. The reports summarize the work and plans generated by 34 states and territories engaged in the project, sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). They also provide guidance for ensuring the safety and security of electronic health information exchange. These reports can be accessed using the links below and are also posted at AHRQ’s Health IT Web site.

For additional information regarding the Health Information Security and Privacy Collaboration (HISPC) project formed under this contract by the 34 states and territories, as well as its ongoing extension work, visit http://privacysecurity.rti.org/.

Final Assessment of Variations and Analysis of Solutions

Final Implementation Plan Report

Nationwide Summary Report


Select a state to see project contact information:

Contact Rebecca Madison at 907-729-3934 or visit our Web site at www.alaskarhio.org/index

If you are interested in receiving more information about this project or you would like to volunteer for one of the working groups described below, please contact one of the following individuals:

Kim Snyder
AzHISPC Project Manager
ksnyder@azgita.gov

Nell Lawrence
AzHISPC Project Coodinator
nlawrence@azgita.gov

Kevin W. Ryan, JD, MA
Associate Director, Arkansas Center for Health Improvement
RyanKevinW@uams.edu

Shirley A. Tyson, BS
Policy Specialist, Arkansas Center for Health Improvement
TysonShirley@uams.edu

Nancy Archer, RN, CPHQ
HCQIP Manager
Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care
narcher@afmc.org

Elisabeth Wright Burak, MPP, MSW
Director of Policy and Planning
AR Department of Health and Human Services
Elisabeth.Wright@arkansas.gov

If you believe that you represent a health care provider, health plan, patient, or patient or privacy advocate, and are interested in participating in this project, please provide your contact and affiliation information to ohi.comments@ohi.ca.gov.

Lynn Dierker, RN
Director for Community Initiatives
Colorado Health Institute
dierkerl@coloradohealthinstitute.org

Katherine Levesque
klevesque@prohealthmd.com
860-284-5276

Pia Neustadter
Florida Privacy and Security Collaboration Research Analyst
neustadp@ahca.myflorida.com

Shannon Smith-Ross, MPH, MS
Project Manager
ssmithross@ilqio.sdps.org

Roland Gamache, Project Lead
rgamache@isdh.IN.gov

Sherry Grund
HISPC Project Director
Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, 6000 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
515-223-2112
sgrund@ifmc.org

Susan Brown
HISPC Project Coordinator
Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, 6000 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
515-440-8215
sbrown@ifmc.org

Robert F. St. Peter, MD
Project Team Leader
President and CEO, Kansas Health Institute
rstpeter@khi.org

Karen Braman, RPh, MS
Director, Quality and Innovation
Kansas Division of Health Policy and Finance
karen.braman@da.state.ks.us

Aaron Otto
Special Assistant to the Governor
Policy Director, Lieutenant Governor
aaron.otto@gov.state.ks.us

Trudi Matthews
Division Director/Chief Policy Advisor
Trudi.matthews@ky.gov

Roxane Townsend
RTownsen@dhh.la.gov

Suanne Singer
ssinger@mhic.org

MA-HISPC@mahealthdata.org

These emails will be managed by Diane L. Stone and Susan A. Miller.

Michelle LaLonde
Program Assistant
mlalonde@mphi.org

Diedra Garlock
Program Assistant
dgarlock@mphi.org

James I. Golden, PhD
Project Director
james.golden@health.state.mn.us

Bo Bowen
Project Director
bbowen@msqio.sdps.org

Mary Helen Conner
Project Coordinator
mconner@iqh.org

Amy Schwartz, MPH
Project Director
amy.schwartz@unh.edu

Robert J. McGrath, PhD
Principal Investigator
Robert.mcgrath@unh.edu

Send e-mail indicating your interest to:
EHRworkgroup@dobi.state.nj.us

Jeff Blair, Technical Manager, HISPC
HISPC@LCFResearch.org

Ellen Flink
Project Manager
emf02@health.state.ny.us

Jean Quarrier
Associate Counsel
518-486-1336

W. Holt Anderson
Executive Director, North Carolina Healthcare Information & Communications Alliance
holt@nchica.org
919-558-9258 ext. 27

Bill Hayes
Project Director & President
whayes@hpio.net

Philip Powers
Director of Health Informatics
plpowers@hpio.net

Stephanie Jursek
Assistant Project Director
sjursek@hpio.net

Deborah Thompson, Project Manager
The University of Oklahoma, The Center for Public Management
dthompson@ou.edu

Vincent DeBerry, Project Liaison
The University of Oklahoma, The Center for Public Management
vince@ou.edu or okhispc@oucpm.org

Mike Kennedy, Web Content Manager
The University of Oklahoma, The Center for Public Management
mkennedy@ou.edu or mkennedy@oucpm.org

Robn Mitchell, HIPAA Privacy Officer
The Oklahoma State Department of Health
robnm@health.ok.gov

L'Toya Knighten, Agency Liaison and Public Policy Specialist
The Office of the Governor
l'toya.knighten@gov.ok.gov

Each working group will comprise domain experts from a broad range of stakeholder groups. If you have a desire to participate in one of these working groups, please contact Dr. Pettit at jody.pettit@state.or.us.

Maria E. Vargas
Project Manager
mevargas@ciracet.com

Jose H. Rodriguez
Project Director
jhrodriguez@salud.gov.pr

Amy Zimmerman, Project Director
RI Health Information Exchange
Amy.Zimmerman@health.ri.gov

Laura Ripp, Project Manager
RI Health Information Exchange
rippl@rpmincorporated.com

Judith Wright, VP
Rhode Island Quality Institute
jwright@riqi.org

Laura Adams, President & CEO
Rhode Island Quality Institute
ladams@riqi.org

Francesca Lanier
Project Coordinator
Flanier@healthinsight.org

Greg Farnum
Project Director
gfarnum@vitl.net

Mike Berry
Project Manager
berrym@hln.com

Norma J. Lang
Prime Contact and Administrative Support
njlang@vitl.net

Greg Baumgardner, MS
Washington State HISPC Project Manager
gregb@qualishealth.org

John Wiesendanger, CEO
West Virginia Medical Institute
jwiesendanger@wvmi.org

Patty Ruddick
Patient Safety Project Director/Project Director
RTI HISPC Collaborative
pruddick@wvmi.org

Sallie Hunt
Chief Privacy Officer, State of West Virginia
shunt@hcawv.org

Kathleen E. Farnsworth
DHFS Chief of Staff for eHealth Initiatives
FarnsK@dhfs.state.wi.us

Rex E. Gantenbein, PhD
Project Director
rex@uwyo.edu

Technical Assistance

Technical questions regarding this project should be submitted to Stephanie Rizk at privacy.security@rti.org.